Henry Rapoport Professor of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

University of California, Berkeley

John Hartwig was raised near Schenectady New York, received his A.B. from Princeton University, obtained his Ph.D. from U.C. Berkeley with Bob Bergman and Richard Andersen, and conducted a postdoctoral fellowship at MIT with Stephen Lippard. In 1992 he began his independent career at Yale University and became the Irenée P. DuPont Professor in 2004. In 2006, he moved to the University of Illinois, where he was the Kenneth L. Rinehart Jr. Professor of Chemistry, and in 2011, he returned to U.C. Berkley as the Henry Rapoport Professor.

Professor Hartwig's research focuses on the discovery and understanding of new reactions for organic synthesis catalyzed by transition metal complexes. He is well known for contributions to widely practiced cross-coupling chemistry that form arylamines, aryl ethers, aryl sulfides, and a-aryl carbonyl compounds and for the discovery of practical C-H bond functionalization reactions. While developing these catalytic processes, he has focused on the mechanism and fundamental organometallic chemistry that underpins them, including studies on reductive eliminations to form carbon-heteroatom bonds, oxidative addition of N-H bonds, and olefin insertions into amides and alkoxides. He is the author of the textbook “Organotransition Metal Chemistry: From Bonding to Catalysis.” He has received numerous awards, including an A.C. Cope Scholar Award, the ACS award in Organometallic Chemistry, the H.C. Brown Award for Synthetic Methods, the Nagoya Gold Medal, and the Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2012 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2015.